AusCycling Announce Australian Men’s & Women’s World Championships Teams

AusCycling have announced the Australian teams for next month’s UCI Road World Championships to be held in Wollongong.

The list includes riders who will compete in the Elite and Under 23 categories for men and women to be held from September 18-25. The Time Trial teams will be announced at a later date.

Key members of AusCycling’s performance team including Executive General Manager Performance, Jesse Korf and Elite Road Co-ordinator Rory Sutherland announced the names then held an online press conference on Friday afternoon.

The teams are –

Elite Women

  • Georgia Baker (Northern Districts Cycling Club, TAS – debut*)
  • Grace Brown (St Kilda CC, VIC – 3rd appearance)
  • Brodie Chapman (University of Queensland CC, QLD – 4th appearance)
  • Alexandra Manly (Central Districts CC, SA – debut)
  • Sarah Roy (Parklife CC, NSW – 6th appearance)
  • Amanda Spratt (Penrith CC, NSW – 10th appearance)
  • Josie Talbot (Camden CC, NSW – debut)

Elite Men

  • Simon Clarke (Carnegie Caulfield CC, VIC – 11th appearance*)
  • Luke Durbridge (Midland CC, WA – 8th appearance)
  • Heinrich Haussler (Inverell CC, NSW – 6th appearance)
  • Jai Hindley (Midland CC, WA – 2nd appearance)
  • Michael Matthews (Vikings CC, ACT – 10th appearance)
  • Ben O’Connor (Peel District CC, WA – debut)
  • Lucas Plapp (Brunswick CC, VIC – debut)
  • Nicholas Schultz (Sunshine Coast CC, QLD – 4th appearance)

U23 Men

  • Matthew Dinham (Manly Warringah CC, NSW)
  • Dylan George (Manly Warringah CC, NSW)
  • Dylan Hopkins (Canberra CC, ACT)
  • Jensen Plowright (Hawthorn CC, VIC)
  • Rudy Porter (Carnegie Caulfield CC, VIC)

U23 Women

There is still no standalone U23 Women’s race. A recent UCI Press Release stated ‘The UCI has decided to create a UCI World Champion title in the road race and individual time trial in the Women Under 23 category. This new title will be introduced at the 2022 edition of the UCI Road World Championships, which will take place in Wollongong (Australia). The two titles will be awarded at medal ceremonies during which the UCI World Champions will be presented with a rainbow jersey and the three riders on the podium with medals corresponding to their rank. As a transitional measure for the 2022, 2023 and 2024 UCI Road World Championships, for technical and logistical reasons and due to commitments already made, the women’s races will include both the Women Elite and Women Under 23 categories, and two titles will be awarded at the end of the events. From the 2025 edition, which will be held in Kigali (Rwanda), a separate event will be organised for athletes in the Women Under 23 category.’

U19 Men

  • Oscar Chamberlain (Canberra Cycling Club, ACT)
  • William Eaves (City of Burnie Cycling Club, TAS)
  • Hamish McKenzie (Northern Districts Cycling Club, TAS)
  • Cameron Rogers (Canberra Cycling Club, ACT)

U19 Women

  • Talia Appleton (Mansfield Mt Buller Cycling Club/Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club, VIC)
  • Belinda Bailey (Bendigo & District Cycling Club, VIC)
  • Isabelle Carnes (Balmoral Cycling Club, QLD)
  • Bronte Stewart (Tolland Cycling Club, NSW)
  • Lucinda Stewart (Carnegie Caulfield Cycling Club, VIC)

Your thoughts on the team selection? Have your say in the comments section.


One Comment

What do you think?

198 Points
Upvote Downvote

Jay Vine Wins Mountaintop Stage 6 Of Vuelta

First Ride: 2023 Giant Propel Advanced SL 0